TIP: Before you can start using the forum, please confirm your email address. The confirmation email is sent after your register. Please check your spam folder as well.

Am I meant to be an artist?

Have you ever questioned whether you were meant to be an artist, or whether it was the best thing to pursue as a full-time career? I’ve always been drawn to other artists and often fantasize about making an income and supporting my family by creating art, however sometimes I also ponder whether this is the right path for me or if I should let my dream career remain a side hobby. The most important thing I want to focus on is spending as much time with my daughter & husband, and to be able to help support us financially. I don’t want to spend too much time wearing all the hats involved with being a successful freelance artist, I just want to create art. I also tend to feel like I should pursue art since it is the one thing I have invested the most time & money in learning, but unsure if I can get the time I desire, and the ability to support us as much as I’d like to. I’d love to hear your opinions on the subject.

Comments

• 3 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • @MariCatala This is one of the hardest questions we all have to ask at some point. And it goes for anybody - e.g. doctors, musicians, office workers, etc. Not only artists. In general, it's not really about if we are meant to be this or that, but if we really want it. The intrinsic motivation is usually stronger than the extrinsic one.

Once you have this clear, then comes the practical part. You gotta pay your bills. Can art be the way to do it? It surely can as we have seen in Iva's interviews, in many ways.